Lifestyle, Reviews: books and art events

Collected Curiosities: Whig History, Stravinsky, Diaghilev, etc.

  • Composer Igor Stravinsky was a son of a talented singer.  He realized that his calling is music early in life, but tried to make a career as a lawyer (concert brochure)
  • Read a piece where a blogger complained about her sandwich being too chewy.  Maybe I lack sense of humor, but is it really a valid reason to be upset?
  • Finally found out what ‘pumpkin spice’ is made of: cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, cloves and allspice (internet :))
  • There is a surprisingly large number of books by Eduard Limonov at UofT library. I wonder why? (UofT library catalogue)
  • Sergei Diaghilev (known for his Ballets Russes in Paris) was the founder of the “World of Art” (Mir Iskusstva) magazine that existed from 1898 till 1905.  Art and literature critics were often published there.  The emphasis was on “art for the sake of art”.  I did not find any articles from it online though. (“Igor Stravinsky” by B. Yarustovsky, 3rd edition, 1982 Leningrad “Music”)
  • There exist some letters that Dmitrii Mendeleev wrote but did not send at Mendeleev Archive-Museum in St. Petersburg, Russia. I wonder where and how they found them! (A Well Ordered Thisn: Dmitrii Mendeleev and the shadow of the Periodic Table by Michael D. Gordin) 
  • Butterfield coined the term Whig History in 1931 (lecture by prof. Joe Pitt, West Virginia University)

I have started collecting various academic and non-academic curiosities in a special notebook (that I hope will one day evolve to be a research log. book one day). These are some curiosities that i collected this week.

(Why this curiosity collection idea has occurred to me? The answer is here:  https://mariyaboyko12.wordpress.com/2013/10/09/the-toughest-thesis-advisors/)

6 thoughts on “Collected Curiosities: Whig History, Stravinsky, Diaghilev, etc.”

    1. 🙂 I like the Starbucks Pumpkin Spice late, but I can drink it only about once in 2 weeks in the smallest possible size. it is just too-too sweet. Now that you mentioned it, I have never ordered the Dark Chocolate Mocha. I will try it! Thanks for the suggestion

      Like

      1. Interestingly, I was standing in a queue at Caribou Coffee store in my library, reading the options when I wrote the comment ! Ended up getting, Pumpkin White Chocolate Mocha instead … Ha ha ! So far, I liked it … So thank you ! 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

